The Parliamentary Assembly on 29 September elected Thorbjørn Jagland Secretary General of the Organisation for a five-year term. In the first round of the election, Thorbjørn Jagland obtained 165 votes (an absolute majority) and Wlodzimierz Cimoszewicz (Poland) 80 votes. There were 245 votes cast. Mr Jagland has been President of the Norwegian Parliament (Storting) since 2005 and Member of Parliament for Buskerud County since 1993. He was sworn in as Secretary General on 1 October 2009.


The Secretary General is elected by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe for a period of five years.

Regulations relating to the appointment of the Secretary General

The Secretary General is entrusted with the responsibility of meeting the aim for which the Council of Europe was set up in London on 5 May 1949, namely to achieve greater unity between its members for the purpose of safeguarding and realising the ideals and principles which are their common heritage and facilitating their economic and social progress.Statute of the Council of Europe

The Secretary General has the overall responsibility for the strategic management of the Council of Europe’s work programme and budget and oversees the day-to-day running of the Organisation and Secretariat.

Last updated 2010-01-11 10:20:00

   © CoE Information Office, Tirana 2004 | Graphics and Programming by CPR Production   top